Tips on becoming a good instructor

dubljay

Master of Arts
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
This seems to be the best place to pose this question....

While I know that as a 3rd brown in EPAK I am a long way of from being an instructor, but I have a great desire to teach when the time comes. However, I not sure how to go about being a good instructor as I have not yet traveled down that road. I have had some experience teaching a kids class, and on the rare occasion of filling in for the adult class. All in all I would say I have less than 50 hours in as a teacher.

My question to you verteran instructors is how do I become a good instructor? From my limited experience I have had I know it is more than just knowing the material. Please share any experiences that will point me in the right direction, and things I should take pains to avoid doing.

I am humbled before your knowlege.

-Josh-

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I am not much further advanced in American Kenpo than you, but, I am a professional trainer in the software industry (also in music).

One of the key points I would suggest, is to not 'overteach'. Especially in Karate, the learning curve seems to be very platformed.

What we learn in the early belts, will need to be 're-learned' with new information after we have learned the concepts in the intermediate belts. And will further need to be examined when we reach the advanced stages of learning.

When I am working with a lower belt, I pick out one thing about a technique or form that is weak, and work on that one item. I don't try to teach them everything that I know about the technique.