Throws - are they useful?

mhouse

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
By way of introduction, my name is Mark and I have been studying Shaolin Kempo Chi Sao for 6 years in Massachusetts. I'm new to this board and this is my first post to this forum although I have been reading it with great interest for the past month since I found it.

I just posted a thread in the Technique forum asking about throwing techniques and how to teach them.

I don't have many techniques that throw my opponent and it made me wonder.

Are throws still a useful part of kenpo/kempo? (There are a number of ways to ask this. Another way to ask it is: Do throws still belong in the kenpo system?)

To be clear, I am talking specifically about shoulder throws and hip throws. And this is just speculation. I'm interested in hearing people's opinions.

Thank you.

Kembudo-Kai Kempoka

Senior Master
Reaction score
mhouse said:
By way of introduction, my name is Mark and I have been studying Shaolin Kempo Chi Sao for 6 years in Massachusetts. I'm new to this board and this is my first post to this forum although I have been reading it with great interest for the past month since I found it.

I just posted a thread in the Technique forum asking about throwing techniques and how to teach them.

I don't have many techniques that throw my opponent and it made me wonder.

Are throws still a useful part of kenpo/kempo? (There are a number of ways to ask this. Another way to ask it is: Do throws still belong in the kenpo system?)

To be clear, I am talking specifically about shoulder throws and hip throws. And this is just speculation. I'm interested in hearing people's opinions.

Thank you.