The Difference Between DKI and RyuTe Kyosho Jitsu

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
There have been many threads dedicated to bashing DKI on MT. This is not one of them.

I have a book that Mr. Dillman wrote with Chris Thomas about kyusho jitsu and I have been informed that Mr. Oyata's work is greatly different from what is presented. I would like to discuss the differences in the systems of Kyusho Jitsu..ie philosophy, methods, techniques, etc.

Lets try to keep this discussion focused, civil, and productive. This is something in which I'm really interested...

upnorthkyosa

DavidCC

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Thsi is a "not-very-qualified" response since I have only 2nd hand knowledge of either. But this is what I have been told:

With Oyata's RyuTe, he hits you ANYWHERE and you go down and question your ability to control your bowels.

With Dillman, he hits you somewhere very specific and you might get dizzy or black out.

I am studying with KI (Kyusho International) which is basically some guys who left DKI because they wanted a more practical approach. So I am not completely unsympathetic to Dillman... but I've seen footage of both and been hit by both and... ouch!

thetruth

Black Belt
Reaction score
George Dillman went to about 6 Oyata seminars with a video camera, Got a few charts etc and went home and started smacking people in his living room surrounded by beanbags and pillows. He eventually came up with what is now called the Dillman method of pressure point fighting.