Thai kicks

Azural

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been training for a couple months now, my balance and coordination has improved greatly, but I am still having major issues with my Thai Kicks. It may just be an issue with my ability to pivot on my front foot, or turning my leg enough at the end of the kick. I am thoroughly confused on how I can improve this. If anyone would be willing to give me some basic advice, or some ways that you perform your own kicks, I would be greatful.

thaistyle

Blue Belt
Reaction score
In my experience, the most common problem I have seen with performing the thai kick is pivoting on the lead leg. It is hard to say what you are exactly doing wrong without actually seeing you kick. Your best bet would be to have your instructor observe your technique step-by-step and correct you when he sees the mistake. If the initial pivot is your problem you could try taking a small step, to start the pivot, when you begin to kick.

King

Green Belt
Reaction score
I usually give beginners two advice:

1. Practice stepping out (a small step) with your lead leg and then kicking. Kicking from the same spot requires more core balance. So start with a little step for some momentum.

2. Visualize bringing your leg over a low hanging rope. Notice how you would turn your body when you step over something low? The swing kick operates with the same dynamics as that. Practice low kicks and slowly raise it up as you get comfortable with it.

Good luck with your training.

Thunder Foot

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Hmm... the most common error I see with beginners in terms of the Thai kick, is the pivot as some have already stated. Of course the best tool for you is going to your Kru evaluating your kick. But maybe we might be able to offer you some insight into other problems, to help you smoothen your learning process.