teaching at a health club

T

TLH3rdDan

does anyone on the board have any experience with teaching at health clubs like golds gym or world gym or even the ymca?
if so

how did you get the program started?

how did you deal with bringing in students that were not memebers of the club you were teaching at?

did they have limitations on what you could do?

did they cover you under their insurance or did you have to take out your own?

did they set the price of instruction or did you have a say in the pricing?

OP
K

Kirk

I studied Tang Soo Do at "the Y" for like 8 months. It was
very chaotic, although the instructor, poor guy tried his darndest.
He wasn't allowed to refuse students, per his deal with the YMCA,
and many used it as a baby sitting service. He couldn't have a
seperation of adult/children classes (again, per his agreement)
and trying to get it started from scratch was very difficult for him.
He need assistants, yet he was too new to have any. I was
there for 8 months, learned some basics, and about 3 forms.
Surprisingly enough though, I was there for 8 months, and I
didn't think the guy knew could have picked me out of a lineup.
But about 3 weeks after I stopped attending, he called and asked
why I hadn't been showing up anymore. I was totally truthful
to him, and that's when he opened up and told me the
frustrations he was having with the deal he struck with the Y.
I'm not sure if it was a discredit to him or not ... I couldn't get
much instruction from the man.

OP
K

kempograppler

I started out my martial arts training with the ymca in houston,tx. It was tae kwon do, and although the guy was a good instructor, he was hampered by the people at ymca.

OP
R

RCastillo