Student's interest in their lineage

Kong Soo Do

IKSDA Director
Supporting Member
Reaction score
What is your experience as far as your students being interested in their lineage? Or, if you're a student now, do you have any interest in your lineage. Things such as what your original Kwan may have been, who taught who going back to the founder etc.

For those that may be interested, what have you been able to provide them?

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm a student interested in our lineage. We are a Moo Duk Kwan school, so I know we go back to GM Hwang Kee. I know our lineage back to GM Bobby Kim, but I do not know the lineage beyond him. I hope to be able to ask him about it someday.

texas_rebel_1980

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
i am a student, brand new. i study chung do kwan tae kwon do and i know it was started by grandmaster won kuk lee. thats about all i know. i would love to know who my instructor has studied under and so forth all the way back to GM Won Kuk Lee. thats something i will have to ask him when we are sitting around between classes.

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It's a lot more important to me now, as an instructor, than it was to me as a teenaged gup student. We are Chung Do Kwan. I make sure that my students know our lineage (specifically, the names of Instructor's instructor's instructor....that type of thing). They seem to have a vague interest in it, now. How many teens care about such things?

ralphmcpherson

Senior Master
Reaction score