Student uniform and gear purchases

L

LateBloomer

I am a newbie to MA and am not looking to open a school or anything. I do have a question for those who do own a school or is thinking about opening a school. What is your policy regarding uniform and gear purchases by the students; do you require that the students purchase those through your school only or not?

When I first join the local MA school, I had hand me down's from my sister who was in Karate for 6 years. After the first year, I decided that I enjoy MA enough to invest in some nice gi and to replace the sparring gear. I made my purchases outside of school since I can get them for less elsewhere. I was told, in a nice way, that I should purchase these through the school. It was explained to me that the school makes a little bit of money from these sales to help keep the tuition down (the tuition is very reasonable).

What policy do/will you set and why? Thanks in advance for posting.

loki09789

Senior Master
Reaction score
LateBloomer said:
I am a newbie to MA and am not looking to open a school or anything. I do have a question for those who do own a school or is thinking about opening a school. What is your policy regarding uniform and gear purchases by the students; do you require that the students purchase those through your school only or not?

When I first join the local MA school, I had hand me down's from my sister who was in Karate for 6 years. After the first year, I decided that I enjoy MA enough to invest in some nice gi and to replace the sparring gear. I made my purchases outside of school since I can get them for less elsewhere. I was told, in a nice way, that I should purchase these through the school. It was explained to me that the school makes a little bit of money from these sales to help keep the tuition down (the tuition is very reasonable).