Standardized Ho Sin Sul

MBuzzy

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I realize that most styles and organizations have some type of standardized syllabus for Ho Sin Sul. I recently started studying at a Soo Bahk Do Dojang and found that the US SBD Federation has a very strict Ho Sin Sul curriculum which is standardized.

My problem with this is that it only includes wrist grabs (both same side and cross) and lower and upper sleeve grabs. The techniques are also very specific in terms of stance and exact movements.

My Ho Sin Sul training in Korea was basically different every time that we did it, incorporating grabs from all different angles, different parts of the body, and in different ways. The actual techniques were also more based on the escape and the counter, without much attention to stance or exact movements....basically just get out and get your opponent down.

So how many of you have a standardized Ho Sin Sul curriculum like one of these, and if it is the former, how do you round out your self defense training. I see this as a very important side of our art, but I'm curious how other styles do this.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score