Somehow I've ended up here...

S

switch

G'day

My name is George and somehow I've ended up here.

I work as an accountant in a large bakery where I sit in front of a computer from 7:30 to 5:00 each day. I then drive home and sit in front of a computer playing video games and browsing the net. At about midnight I go to bed and start all over again. The furthest I walk is upstairs to have a shower and go to bed. I realised that I hate going out because I'm so addicted to video games. It didn't happen overnight but suddenly I found myself doing the above routine day in and day out. The weekends are the same. In front of the computer or the TV most of the time. Might go out to a movie every other week or meet up at a large carpark where we hang out showing off our cars. I have a passion for cars, a very expensive passion.

Up until a few months ago I was reasonably active with my go-kart. I used to go out on the weekends and it kept me kind of fit. At least I wasn't fragging people over the net. This passtime has slowed down. Well, I haven't been out for 7 or so months. I certainly didn't plan on stopping and I will be going out again, I just got caught up with video games.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not really sorry and I don't regret where my life is right now. I rather enjoy doing what I do and that's the problem. As with all things, moderation is the key and spending 95% of your waking life staring at a computer screen isn't what I would call moderation. It's a sad and humiliating moment, personally, when you realise that 98% of your day is spent either sitting down or sleeping.

Working in a bakery and leading the life I do you would think I as overweight as well. I'm not actually. I am 55kg which is underweight for my height. Smoking 10 cigarettes a day helps me keep the weight down although I don't smoke for this reason. I am addicted and have been for the last 10 years. I turn 27 in 10 days.