Some advice for improving baseline fitness before starting to train?

Supra Vijai

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hey all,

This is my first time posting in this section so to just give a quick background on myself, I am a 26 year old male, who is not in the greatest shape and who has only ever done traditional, Japanese martial arts. Recently though my instructor suggested that I would definitely benefit from boxing in that it would help both my own attacks during our modern self defense portion of the class and also get me used to having things come in at my head very quickly.

I've found a gym that's opening near me with a dedicated boxing class and it opens early May catering for all fitness levels and experience levels so I jumped at the chance to join that. Earlier today I received an update from them that while classes aren't starting just yet, the gym itself will be open as of this Friday if anyone wants to come in and do their own thing.

I certainly don't want to "learn" anything without going to classes but I feel my baseline fitness could be a LOT better and while the classes state for all fitness levels, I'd like a bit more endurance and overall fitness from the outset. With that in mind, are there any exercises you could/would recommend to start with? What sort of drills or routines would I be coming across in a boxing class that I should be working up to?

To give a little more background as well, this is taken from their class description: "A high intensity boxing circuit class that won’t make you a World Champion but you’ll feel like one. Great for tone and overall conditioning. Members must bring their own boxing wraps. An excellent workout for all fitness levels." Having spoken with one of the trainers at the gym, there will be sparring in their dedicated ring but you need to go to a few classes, run the circuits and build up to anything more which I'm personally fine with. I would also like any feedback you may have on this approach.