Solo training exercises

Logan

Green Belt
Reaction score
I have been doing Tomiki style Aikido for about 7 years now. I was just wondering what sort of exercises you do outside of class on your own that you feel is beneficial to your training?

For me, aside from kata and the hand/foot movements, all I do is mentally go through the techniques...

kosho

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
Meditation about 30 mins a day is to me ONE of the most inportant things you can do for your mind and body. If your mind is not calm things do not work well.
Kosho

charyuop

Black Belt
Reaction score
I haven't done Aikido for that long, only few months.
What I usually do daily (except when it rains since I don't particularly appreciate practicing in the mud and if I ruin the ceiling with the Jo my wife will kill me) is 31 Jo kata and 20 (23) Jo suburi. Repeat many times bokken cuts. Moreover i torture the huge tree in my backyard with the Jo...don't know what it is called, but it is that block that looks alot like the tsuki.
Of course I am not at your level so I do these exercises to imprint in my muscles basic movements like keeping the elbows low, turning with the hips and smotthness in handeling the Jo. But most of all to get better with my left side. I am right handed and in my life the only times I used my left hand was to tie shoes and eat a steak...you should see how retarded I look when I do the Jo kata with the left hand :(

I don't do meditation, but I also practice Tai Chi daily which helps alot with concentration and relaxation.

Yari

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I dont know which kata you do, but these would be afla/omega to what else you have to do.

Any movment can be done along, or be broken down to easliy defined movements that can be practiced.

On the genral side, doing som running/biking like that would help too.

/Yari

OP
L

Logan

Green Belt
Reaction score