Simply to simplify

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
I have been re-reading “Tao of Jeet Kune Do” and I am beginning to wonder something. The first time I read it I was recovering from a back injury that took me out of MA and eventually lead me to Taijiquan which I have been training for going on 17 years now and close to 14 years of that has been Traditional Yang style but in addition to Taiji for the last year or so I have been training police-military Sanda and while reading Bruce Lee’s book I find myself thinking that many of the forms that I have been doing and learned in Taiji or just about any CMA might be superfluous. Sanda is simple and direct and has no forms where many other CMA styles are form heavy and somewhat complex. I have nothing against forms, I think they are a good training tool but I am, of late, beginning to think they get in the way of actual martial arts.

I read

The art of Jeet Kune Do is simply to simplify. It is being oneself; it is reality in its “isness.” Thus, isness is the meaning – having freedom in its primary sense, not limited by attachments, confinements, partialization, complexities.

And I began to wonder if I was not wasting my time focusing on forms and that if it was not time to let go and move on.

I am also wondering why some people chose Jeet Kune Do over any other art or why they may have switched to Jeet Kune Do form a previous art.

I should also add I do not train JKD nor is it likely I am going to anytime soon. The school near me is rather expensive and I am very happy with Sanda. I am just wondering, actually as I type this I realize I am not 100% sure what I am wondering to be honest. I have been doing forms for a very long time and now I am not 100% sure if I am not wasting my time and I am not exactly what to do next.

I guess I am just looking for some thoughts on forms or the lack thereof form JKD practitioners to help me get a handle on this.

Thanks
XS

tellner

Senior Master
Reaction score