Should submissions be taught to children?

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I've been mulling over this for two years and I've gone back and forth on the issue. Should submissions be taught to children? On one hand, I see them as any other technique in a MAists repetoire. On the other, I see some developmental issues regarding a child's body and reasoning. If you have any experience with this, please lend me your insight...

:asian:

upnorthkyosa

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yes, but as soon as things are in place the match is over. Don't let them suck it up and keep trying to fight out.

So if you are looking at a armbar, as soon as the arm is straight thats it, match is over. Don't have them wrench at it till someone taps.

OP
Makalakumu

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Andrew Green said:
Yes, but as soon as things are in place the match is over. Don't let them suck it up and keep trying to fight out.

So if you are looking at a armbar, as soon as the arm is straight thats it, match is over. Don't have them wrench at it till someone taps.
This is kind of what I was thinking. I know that kids learn judo and there is plenty of joint locking in that art. The "How To" of their pedagogy is what I'm really interested in.

Also, I don't want anyone to get hurt because I made a poor choice regarding the techniques I taught.

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Apart form that just watch the types of locks you teach, as well as how much control there is before application. So heel hook = bad idea...

Also chokes, not as much because they are dangerous. If done right they are probably one of the safest submissions, but it can cause a lot of panic in young kids, which means tears and them not having fun. Parents don't like it much either ;)

Navarre

Master Black Belt
Reaction score