Should children be taught techniques for joint locking?

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I've been mulling over this for two years and I've gone back and forth on the issue. Should joint locks be taught to children? On one hand, I see them as any other technique in a MAists repetoire. On the other, I see some developmental issues regarding a child's body and reasoning. If you have any experience with this, please lend me your insight...

:asian:

upnorthkyosa

mantis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
upnorthkyosa said:
I've been mulling over this for two years and I've gone back and forth on the issue. Should joint locks be taught to children? On one hand, I see them as any other technique in a MAists repetoire. On the other, I see some developmental issues regarding a child's body and reasoning. If you have any experience with this, please lend me your insight...

:asian:

upnorthkyosa
i'd say yes.
first children are majorly exposed to the danger of attack, kidnap, and rape so they should be taught whatever it take to defend themselves.
second, if those kids are taught those things when they are little they may be able to add to the arts when they grow. it makes them more experienced when they are at a mature age.

OP
Makalakumu

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I posted a slightly different thread in the grappling forum in order to get some different perspectives. I'm hoping that by posting this in the Hapkido forum, I'll be able to get a KMA perspective on joint locking and children. I've heard arguments for and against. My teacher does not think that children should learn joint locks because of the potential to "leave no trace". However, the federation that we belonged to taught them to children in the form of Ho Sin Shul. My issue with this is regarding bunkai for our hyung. There are so many joint locks that I feel that it is almost shameful to NOT teach this stuff to them. What do you think?

arnisador