seminar certifications

thekuntawman

Purple Belt
Reaction score
i decided to make a new thread because my reply to "dishonesty" is a change of subject.

seminar certification is okay i guess, the way some modern arnis do it, with probably 7-10 lessons a year. but to be certified as a teacher, i dont believe it should be given with seminars alone. and what test is given for the certification? or is there even one test that can determine if somebody is qualified or diserving to be a teacher. i dont think so.

in many tae kwon do styles, all that is needed to be a teacher is to know how to perform all the movements in the style, from white belt to black belt. in arnis eskrima you learn most of the movements by the time you are a intermediate student, and your higher levels are determined by your fighting ability. some people will judge you as advanced or expert by your ability to fight against different opponents with no rest, or to hold your own against very good fighters. in my school for example i fight my intermediate students myself. but in the seminar, if they put a lot of weight on fighting performance to be considered an expert, that would be good. but i dont think they do. and then, can you have a test to see if someone is ready to be a teacher, i dont think so. this is like to certify somebody as a "wise man". you cant do it, because wisdom cannot be tested. so the qualification of "teacher" should be earned by time and your accomplishments, not some test.