self defence for a friend

Tony

Black Belt
Reaction score
I have been training in my current kung fu style for 6 years and have recently got my brown sash so I am at teaching level now. I have a friend of mine who was involved in an incident with his mother and her boyfriend. Her boyfriend doesn't seem like a very nice person and attacked my friend so he called the police. This all happened over some minor incident with his mother and her boyfriend jumped to the wrong conclusion and i guess saw this as an excuse to attack him.

I think it might be a good idea if I just helped him out with some basic self defence techniques and even teach him how to strike. He doesn't even know how to make a proper fist. He is not a violent person so if he were attacked he would be easy pickings. I have offered to train with him over the weekend and in turn through teaching him I would improve my skills too.

What are your thoughts on this and how would you go about teaching a friend. I have a few ideas on some kind of training programme but woudl welcome your thoughts and ideas.

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score
You are asking for trouble geting involved with domestics. If you teach him and he uses this, you are going to be held partly responsible. If your friend needs to be able to defend himself then he needs to sign up for a SD class. Don't take this on for anything. Tell him to keep the police informed and if possible move out.

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I think you might consider bringing this up to your instructor, given the legalities that could arise as searcher pointed out. The absolute best thing to do right now is to make sure you find out where he can stay if he needs to - such as a half-way house or something, or friends - get him your phone number where he can reach you, and encourage him to report incidents when he's ready to be out of the house in a flash.