Resolved: Taekwondo is Inherently Bad for Your Body

Emadis

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been in MA since 1963 and have practiced a number of martial arts, from Goju-ryu (karate), judo, aikido, taekwondo, Chen taichichuan, and tangsoodo (karate). I am a tangsoodo master instructor and I am now 62 years old. I can tell you without reservation that the modern, athletic kicking style for which taekwondo is known is fine for young people, but it will do damage to your body over an extended period of time. Incidentally, this kicking style (with the hip extension, emphasis on thrusting movement, and large hip rotation) began in Japan in the 1930s with Gigo Funakoshi (the son of Gichin Funakoshi) and influenced his many followers, including his Korean students who developed the approach to a great degree in Korea. So the damage that you see from this kind of kicking can be seen in many Japanese and Korean styles, and with anyone (including the Chinese styles) that have incorporated this athletic, power-driven style of kicking. I have been teaching this type of kicking for over 30 years and I have seen the results of it with myself and many of my peers/friends in the MA community. Many have had hip replacements, knee surgeries, etc. However, and this is very important: If you go to Okinawa, you will find dozens of old masters in their 80s and even 90s, who still practice their arts, are in incredible condition and are injury-free. Why? Because the karate they practice is less athletic in its focus. While there is a focus on mechanical (external) power, it is much less pronounced than the emphasis on mechanical, external, athletic power seen in the more modern Japanese and Korean styles. The simple fact is, doing an inside-out crescent kick thousands and thousands of times (especially if done high, done forcefully, against a bag or even in the air) may look good and may even score you a point or two at a tournament a few times, but how applicable is it really to self-de