Protectionism, elitism, restrictiveness.

Flatlander

Grandmaster
Reaction score
In my discussions and research it has come to light that it is not an uncommon occurance that instructors, "masters", whatever they need to be called practice this abhorrence to freedom and self discovery. My understanding is that there are people out there who will refuse the furtherance of training to a student who has sought either additional or supplementary training outside of their "home" systems or dojos.

For example. "Dick" trains under "Master X". "Dick" decides that he would like to supplement the style he is learning, and checks out the program at "dojo Y". "Master X" learns of "Dick's" explorations and tells him he is no loger welcome at "dojo X". Has anyone else ever heard of this practice? If you have a story to tell, please share it with us. The public has a right to know.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Well I'm a instructor at my own school and if any of my student would like to get additional training that's great. I do not know all, i feel if a students is searching for the right path let them search. MA is a funning thing, you can join a style for 10 years and then wake up and feel you're missing something from your Art, the search starts over not that your style has changed but your body and mind has changed so you need to supplement your thought and body.
smileJap.gif

Reactions: MJS

hardheadjarhead

Senior Master
Reaction score
I encourage students to seek out instructors and other systems. I have some exceptions, however. They're as follows:

1.) If that other instructor is in competition with me locally, I'd prefer they choose between the two of us. It's an issue of business, not one of academic freedom or martial bigotry.

2.) If I know the instructor is unsafe or disreputable, then I ask my students to avoid him.