"Politically Correct" Tournaments

oldnewbie

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I'm new to this forum, so I'd like to first say Hello. I've done some browsing and find the attiutdes here very refreshing.

But to my point.

My dojo is part of the County Park system, and the tournaments are sponsored by them as well. There are mostly children, and a handful of parents that train as well.

My beef is that everyone that shows up, gets something.

Oh yes, there is first second and third place trophies, etc, but just by showing up, you get something.. ribbon, medal, pin, something.

The answer I get is that they want the children's "sel-esteen" to be intact... plleecchk,

Is this common place? I have but a few years experience with MA.

F

FiveSwords

If the programs are children-oriented, this doesn't surprise me at all. That's pretty much the way all kids' sports are from what I remember. I played tee-ball and football when I was little and we always tied. It never seemed odd to me until I got a bit older and figured out what they were doing.

There's definitely a limit to how far you can take that, though. Any division past 6 or 7 years old can handle a bit of competition, IMO. Most kids past 13 don't need to be coddled at all in a tournament. Sure you need to encourage them, but they also need to realize that they won't win all of their battles in life.

OP
O

oldnewbie

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I agree, you don't always win.
So what's the deal with giving away a First Place for being the only one in your classification? What did you win, an attendance award?

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I think there should be at least 3 people before you give away a first place, frankly--even two isn't enough.

In a sparsely populated area that may not be realistic, though.

KenpoTess

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score