Piecemeal Instruction

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
How many of you would consider letting students pick and choose what they learn from you? I am a goju-ryu karate instructor with a fairly 'traditional' curriculum, including hojo undo, kotikitae, kata, bunka, kumite, and kobudo.

That said, I've been given an opportunity to teach a regular corporate class with a significant amount of new students. The sponsor of this proposed course is a dan holder in another karate style and he loves my material, yet he feels due to the business setting of the class, I would need to drop elements I believe are core to what goju-ryu is. Namely sanchin and shime testing to begin with, but I imagine there other drills and practices named later.

The idea is to advance these business-class students through an approved curriculum, and if they want to learn the material left out, they could do so privately at my own dojo.

It's a good opportunity to spread my teacher's brand of karate, yet I'm wary about ceding control. It is somewhat disconcerting to think that the sponsor, although he would be one of my students, would have a significant amount of input into the class' content and organization.

Omar B

Senior Master
Reaction score
I don't like it man, taking stuff out of the art means you are not teaching the art but just disecting the corpse. If they "want" you and what you do then either teach it wholly or establish a different name/ranking system specifically for them because a student earning a belt in the "summarized system" is gonna be in for a rude awakening when they go into a real dojo.

So, I say if the money's good do it, but make them know that it's not the whole thing and learning as such puts them at a disadvantage to other students.

repz

Green Belt
Reaction score