Phillip "Pete" Starr, Yiliquan Kung-Fu

pstarr

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I'm new to this forum but have been involved in martial arts most of my life. Some of you may already know me but most of you probably don't - some years back I headed up the AAU Chinese Martial Arts Division and it became the largest kung-fu organization in the U.S. at that time-

My first book, "The Making Of A Butterfly" (available in bookstores and on Amazon.com), has recently been published - it's a collection of anecdotes involving my teacher (who passed on in 1971), my classmates, and me - and each story contains a particular lesson or concept. I figured that by putting this book together, my teacher could continue to reach out to new generations of martial arts practitioners.
Although my background is primarily in Chinese martial arts, the ideas set forth in this book are easily applicable to any martial art. It's not a "how-to" book, nor is it "style specific."

If you obtain a copy, let me know what you think! I look forward to many interesting discussions with the group here!

bluemtn

Senior Master
Reaction score
Welcome to Martial Talk, and happy posting! Definitely interested in seeing your posts!

Swordlady

Senior Master
Reaction score
Welcome to MT! Looking forward to learning more about your art. :)

Lisa

Don't get Chewed!
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome and glad you decided to join us. Happy Posting! :wavey:

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score