pangainoon historical question

A

angrywhitepajamas

where would i be able to find any history on pangainoon, in its non ueichi ryu form?? In addition where would I be able to find andy history on the non japanese liniage practitioners? AND where would I be able to verify the claim that Tomas Jefferson practiced pangainoon (I heard about it on the Ueichi ryu virginia site). Ive mailed in my question to the people that run Jefferson's estate but there has yet to be an answer.
Here is their site:
http://www.student.virginia.edu/~uechi/
And here is the link for jefferson:
http://www.student.virginia.edu/~uechi/jefferson.html

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My guess is that the Thomas Jefferson story is an internal joke.

As to Pangainoon--good luck! I'd start with more Uechi-ryu sites and books. I think the Chinese art is lost and only reconstructed versions through Uechi practitioners is available, but I'm no expert.

OP
A

angrywhitepajamas

Im slightly familiar with the different japanese groups but I'm also curious about those people who claim to practice pangai noon. The few Ueichi ryu practitioners that trained in china which I am aware of seem to have a more hsing I or taji perspective. But that is only about two people which I'm aware of. If anyone canelaborate further please do so.

OP
Y

yilisifu

I've never heard about the Thomas Jefferson thing......

But my understanding is that the Uechi system was developed from southern Chinese "crane" system(s). I have seen forms and techniques of the "Feeding Crane" style and it very closely resembles Uechi-type movements.

OP
P

paihequan

But my understanding is that the Uechi system was developed from southern Chinese "crane" system(s). I have seen forms and techniques of the "Feeding Crane" style and it very closely resembles Uechi-type movements.