Owie! Throwing and Falling Practice Yesterday

Stac3y

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
For my club's black belt test, we have to do a bunch of "extracurricular" self-defense routines (we have to come up with them, using techniques we've been taught.) I've agreed to be the SD partner for one of our BB candidates this Fall, and yesterday was our first practice.

We spent 3 hours doing throws and breakfalls. I am really sore, but I learned a lot. I think doing this is going to really help me prepare for my own test, and will be a great experience. I just hope my body adjusts to hitting the ground over and over so I don't have to feel this sore all the time for the next few months. My breakfalls are improving, but I'm not very good at them yet. At least I'm on the way to breaking the habit of slapping with the back of my hand instead of the palm.

Most of these throws were new to me, so I had a little trouble getting the hang of them. My partner is way shorter than me, so I really have to bend my knees to get under her center and lift her; that's hard because my knees are not the strongest--once I bend them to a certain point, they bend the rest of the way by themselves. Fast. That being said, I much prefer being thrown by my partner than by her son, who is 6'3". Going over his shoulder the first time was scary! Especially since he is fairly new to this stuff, too.

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Congrats on the learning experience!

I am a bit surprised, though, that they would let someone relatively new to such activities, be thrown via shoulder throw. Most Karate schools reserve the shoulder throw for the more experienced folks, and restrict the highest pivot point at the hip level, for those who haven't had much experience.

Just remember... Tuck in your chin...

OP
S

Stac3y

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Congrats on the learning experience!