New style/ New White Belt Inspirations

Silverdad

White Belt
Reaction score
Greetings All, looking for any inspirational tidbits that anyone has too recommend. Hereā€™s my brief story. Years ago (over twenty) I was a serious student in a Japanese Style for over 11 years. Lately got back into taking Jui Jitsu with my daughter the last few months after she found my old belts. The gym we practice at also teaches Soo Bahk Do, so I figured I would give it a try since itā€™s in between our JJ days and being older I figured I could lose ten or so pounds. The Sa Bom said I could wear my old black belt but I respectfully refused since I want to respect the Korean Style and start over as a white. With that comes my ā€bird in the handā€ feeling. Iā€™m a 51 yo adult having to spar and train with 9/10 year olds who ā€œout rankā€ me but have the typical sloppy kid technique. I stand there knowing my white belt place is just trying to be an example to the kids in all my moves, actions and showing respect But Iā€™m only getting the fitness aspect. I just donā€™t know if I can keep it up for another two years being ā€œan exampleā€ since SBD has a time limit between testing. Has anyone else ran into this problem and if so what kept you motivated? Thank you for any and all input.

Holmejr

Black Belt
Reaction score
Sparring with 9/10 year olds. Just ainā€™t right! There are other adults in the class/school, right? Adults play with adults.

OP
S

Silverdad

White Belt
Reaction score
Sparring with 9/10 year olds. Just ainā€™t right! There are other adults in the class/school, right? Adults play with adults.
The only adults is another white and a green. Like all adults they donā€™t always attend class. This pass Friday I was the only adult (other than the teacher) with about 15 kids. SBD is one step sparing for us lower beltsā€¦. so NO contact anyways.

Last edited:

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score