New School

ChungDo

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi Everyone. I'm brand new to MT, but thought this would be a great resource. Many of you seem to have quite a bit of experience in many aspects of perpetuating/furthering the arts, and I wanted to reach out to everyone to get some guidance. I have made a difficult decision to break away from my dojang due to a falling out with owner. I have been trying to find a new home, but I'm finding that every place is what I've noticed many of you calling a "McDojang". I'm thinking of just trying to open up my own school, but would like to tie into a greater organization with some higher ranked black belts. I am located in a suburb of Denver, and haven't really found an organization that carries the traditional decorum. Can anyone help with any recommendations? Thanks in advance!

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
You don't state what kind of taekwondo you practice. To a large extent, this probably will determine what organization you try to align with. If you do Kukkiwon TKD as your handle suggests (Chung Do Kwan?), it's probably a no-brainer to just find the closest KKW members to your location and approach them with your situation. I'm sure you can find someone willing to have your affiliate with them if you approach them sincerely and humbly.

If you want to go as 'generic' as possible and control your curriculum 100%, there's 2 groups that advertise in the back of Black Belt magazine. The ITA run by John Pelligrini and some other group I can't recall off the top of my head run by Jerry Beasley. There are seminar/additional learning opportunities provided by both groups and I believe they'll grade you to higher dan ranks as well.

ArmorOfGod

Senior Master
Reaction score
http://www.aikia.net/Aikia.net/Beasley.html
That is the link for the Jerry Beasley TKD group, which is actually a pretty good one to join if you have to join one.