Need some advice

KrispyIntensions

White Belt
Reaction score
Where I currently live I have two options for training. Jidokwan TKD and Judo. The TKD school is ran through a community center a mile away from home. The Judo club is a small club of about 8-10 adults and about 6 miles from my house. Both train on the same evenings on Tuesday and Thursday from 6:30pm-8pm. Both are $40 a month so very affordable.

I’m a 36 year old adult male 6’4” 205lbs. I used to train WTF TKD for 6 months about a year ago and received my yellow belt. My issue is, I’ll be relocating in two years to a smaller town in the same state that only has BJJ and ITF TKD. I’m 100% going to be training at the ITF TKD school when I relocate since ITF is what I’m most interested in when it comes to TKD. If I chose the Jidokwan TKD school near by, would that two years combined with my past 6 months of WTF skills transfer over to ITF when I pursue that? Or should I spend these two years where I am studying a new skill as in Judo and taking that skill set into ITF TKD when I relocate in two years?

Gyakuto

Senior Master
Supporting Member
Reaction score
‘In the words of the ancients, one should make his decisions within the space of seven breaths. Lord Takandobu said, “If discrimination is long, it will spoil.” Lord Naoshige said, “When matters are done leisurely, seven out of ten will turn out badly. A warrior is a person who does things quickly.’ Hagakure.

Earl Weiss

Senior Master
Reaction score
Some Kicking skills may transfer from the Jidokwan school to the ITF school. Difficult to say. Much of the curriculum will be different and IF you develop some striking skill you may be able to advance from beginner at the ITF school more quickly than someone without skills.
IMO if you have no falling / throwing / grappling skills the value of what you will learn at the Judo school is invaluable and will serve you well even if these skills don't transfer to a striking art.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster