Multiple Arts encouraged or discouraged?

stonewall1450

White Belt
Reaction score
Well I went looking for a place to learn Arnis/escrima and upon talking to 4 instructors, only one of them encouraged learning another art (the same guy I intend to take classes from). He encourages it because he wants more arts in the dojo to help increase a students defensive skill and to keep them "honest" while sparring. So this is a question that I would like to ask others.
Is it a good or bad thing to learn multiple arts? I understand that if you would to do this you would want arts that mix well(like learning to box and learning to kickbox lol). Another question that is basically the same is, is it the sign of a good or bad instructor that they encourage learning other arts? If you feel like listing pros and cons go ahead.

mrhnau

Senior Master
Reaction score
I think studying multiple arts is fine, however, as a beginner, I'd think twice, unless they are fairly similar. Don't want -too- much confusion, and you are going to have your hands full studying the first art!

My Bujinkan instructor actually recommended studying another art upon reaching a certain skill level. Since that was the only art he taught, that would require a different school. I think exposure to several arts, once a degree of skill in one art is obtained, can only help, especially if its complimentary (adding weapons, striking/grappling, etc)

Hawke

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Some arts blend better than others (FMA and Kenpo).

The instructors I had encouraged training in other arts, after you have studied one for a few years.

Certain skill sets transfer well into another art (Aikido and Iaido).

You may notice how some arts have similar footwork, joint locks, strikes, and evasion, while other arts will have you move totally different than you are used to.

Shop around, play with others, feel the art, and ask lots of questions.

Your instructor is key.