muay thai fitness

P

progressivetactics

now that Muay Thai is becoming a fitness craze, is it hurting the art?
I know when Tae Bo came out, all the 'traditionalist' came out the wall complaining 'its not real' and stuff like that. Do you see the same politics going on in Muay Thai? Just curiuos as I haven't heard any, but I am not in the mix of it like you all are.

OP
S

soccer50

One thing i hate is people often refer to Muay Thai as kickboxing. Then those aerobic classes start doing these knock off moves,like knees and elbows, and call it kickboxing. I am a Muay Thai fighter, I hate being refered to a Kickboxer. Its definately not the same. Muay Thai is Muay Thai, kickboxing is a descendant of karate, which has no clinch, kneees, or elbows. Another thing, I am not a martial artist. Muay Thai is a sport that is dereived from a Martial Art.

OP
A

Azagthoth

It is kinda frustrating, because so many people don't know what Muay Thai is, and when you are like "come join me for a Muay Thai class"...they associate thai and tae ( or however you spell it for Tae-bo) and think it's the same thing. Incredibly annoying really. It's almost to the point of everytime I say muay thai to someone that I don't train with, I qualify it with a boxing from Thailand immediately after. Of course none of this is as bad as my yoga teacher announcing this week.."he's so flexible because he does Tae Kwon Do and they stretch on these weird contraptions." Wait a minute..did she just accuse me of practicing TKD? ARRRG! :) Worst part is I was wearing a US Thai Boxing Association shirt at the time...

OP
P

progressivetactics

i didn't mean to offend you. I simple asked if there was an upshoot in enrollement, because most Muay Thai schools I have seen have fight training, and aerobic training. I was curious if everyone seen the same thing.

As to your post: