May be time to let it go

Discussion in 'Chinese Internal Arts : Taijiquan (Tai Chi) and Qi' started by Xue Sheng, Oct 10, 2018.

1. Xue Sheng

Xue Sheng All weight is underside

• Supporting Member
    I get to this point, for the last few years, at least once every couple of years but this time is seems a bit different. I think I am tired of Traditional Yang Taijiquan.

I have been asking myself if I am getting anything out of Yang style, or do I just keep on doing it because I have been doing it for 24 years. Of late I have noticed when doing the long form, at some point, I go on auto pilot and if I tell myself I have to go do taijiquan and I feel I need to start with Yang style, I generally do nothing at all.

I can go do what little Sun style I know, even have become intrigued with the Cheng Manching version of Yang as it comes from Cheng Manching, enjoying the heck out of push hands too. Have no problem working on Xingyi (slowly at the moment due to my knees) or standing that is used in Xingyi and Yiquan, heck I have been training qigong regularly again too. But Yang style, the actual forms I know; long, 2 fast forms, jian, and 2 dao forms....just can't get myself to do them and when I do succeed and dragging my lazy carcass to the basement to do them.. at some point, or for the whole form, I am on auto-pilot

Maybe time for a Yang taijiquan hiatus or maybe it is time to let it go and move on.

2. gpseymour

gpseymour Sr. Grandmaster

• Supporting Member
    It doesn't sound like it brings you much value, and less joy. Life's too short for that, and there's too much cool stuff in MA. Go have some fun.

• Like Like x 2
  3. Kung Fu Wang

Kung Fu Wang Grandmaster

This may not make sense for others. When I

- was young, I didn't mind to do some slow movement. I started to train Taiji when I was 7.
    - get older, I just can't stand slow movement any more.