Knees and kicking

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I have been doing martial arts for 16 years and I have never had a problem with my knees. As of now, I am experiencing some pain from the shock of jumping or twisting. I wonder if it caused by doing kicks in the air, or if it could be caused by my new weight lifting program. My wife said that when I am doing squats, my knees go over my toes. Like I said, I have been doing martial arts for a long time, also, I'm only 27, I would rather change my lifting then my kicking :)

upnorthkyosa

D

Disco

I would change lifting in favor of kicking. If your pain is new and so is your lifting........... At the very least, take a break from lifting and see if you relieve the pain. Although you may have to give everything a rest in order to fully recover. In all the lifting I have seen at the really high competition levels, the majority of the guys doing squats all have knee wraps and have had some knee problems. Even in kicking, you can develop knee problems. The body can only take so much abuse and were all different with different levels that we can go to before problems arise, The problem associated with lifting is that you can accelerate the chance of injury because of the extra weight and stress. Remember, pain is the bodies way of saying "knock it off". Hope things improve and you continue with your MA training.:asian:

dearnis.com

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I think your wife nailed it; when the knees go beyond the toes in any action shearing forces on the knee skyrocket. Watch that the knee doesnt pass the toe, and that the toe and knee track together, and you should be fine.

hardheadjarhead

Senior Master
Reaction score
Squats are pretty darned harmful all around. I know I'm going to get flamed for saying this....

True, they cause great gains in musculature throughout the whole body...but they compromise the back as well as the knees.