Knee injuries

Kittan Bachika

Purple Belt
Reaction score
A friend of mine who trains in karate banged up one his knees a couple times in the past month. And now every time he squats or presses his knee into his chest he feels pain. He describes it as if something in his knees is pinching something every time he bends it. Other than that, there is no swelling or inflammation. Just some discomfort. It got a bit worse when doing cardio on the elliptical.

He is going to lay off training for awhile. He thinks it might be a torn meniscus and plans on seeing an acupuncturist. I told him go see a doctor.

Not that I am a doctor but it does sound like a meniscus tear. Anyone ever had that type of injury? What other knee injuries are common in martial arts and how do recover from them.

fangjian

Black Belt
Reaction score
A friend of mine who trains in karate banged up one his knees a couple times in the past month. And now every time he squats or presses his knee into his chest he feels pain. He describes it as if something in his knees is pinching something every time he bends it. Other than that, there is no swelling or inflammation. Just some discomfort. It got a bit worse when doing cardio on the elliptical.

He is going to lay off training for awhile. He thinks it might be a torn meniscus and plans on seeing an acupuncturist. I told him go see a doctor.

Not that I am a doctor but it does sound like a meniscus tear. Anyone ever had that type of injury? What other knee injuries are common in martial arts and how do recover from them.

I have 'knee pain' related to having FAI ( hip spurs ). Had surgery and hopefully my related knee problem will go away soon. I can't do any low stances ( for wushu ).

Also a student of mine twisted her knee while doing a routine. She twisted her knee, but there was no long term damage. Just inflammation/swelling. She needed to rest for about 8 months. Just for a regular strain!