Keyboard Training

K

kempomama

Which is the best program for keyboard training? I have heard of Mavis Beacon and Ainsworth? Any preferences or other good programs?

Thank you in advance!

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Mavis Beacon is really good and is a good price, I'd reccomend it fully. That said, I have no experience with the other....

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
AOL Instant Messenger ....

While my kids have no idea how to type, they do seem to get the letters out of the keyboard pretty quickly. What they need now is a spelling and grammar program.

When I was in High School, I took a typing class. It was fifteen years later when I got my first computer. I can't tell you how happy I am/was, that I took that stupid typing class.

We have Mavis Beacon. It works pretty good. But after a couple of weeks, my daughter just stopped working at it. She will never be able to type more than, oh, maybe 25 - 30 words per minute. But, she moves around sufficiently for most purposes.

OP
K

kempomama

My child's school requires him to pound out 55 wpm with 3 or fewer errors. I never get that much even on my best day.

Anyone tried Ainsworth?

sheryl

OUMoose

Trying to find my place
Reaction score
Not sure about a program, but I'll tell you what finally broke me of hunt-and-peck typing. Buy one of the "natural" keyboards. I got one because I thought they might help a little with wrist strain, but it also forces you to keep your hands where they're suppsoed to be on the keyboard. Pretty soon, I was typing (albeit with a bunch of backspacing) without looking at the keyboard. At that point, it's just practice. :)

Just my 2cp. :)

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I still hunt-and-peck. I need to learn how to type.

We use Mavis Beacon for our kids and it works OK. They're learning and they use these skills on their own when they do their e-mail etc.

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score