Kenpo mum

celinha

White Belt
Reaction score

Hi everyone:ultracool
I have a beautiful 8 month old baby girl:angel: and I am an enthusiastic Kenpo student. I began studying Kenpo 2 years ago and it changed my life completely. We practiced everyday – my husband and I – and we always found time whether to practice it or to investigate it. When I was pregnant I took a break on the first 3 months of pregnancy and then, very carefully, I returned the Kenpo trainings and I trained until the day before my daughter was born. Literally.
Since she was born I try to go at least once a week to Kenpo classes, but sometimes even this can be a huge adventure. I work in a home office environment and take care of my kid, and this altogether it’s a 24 hour job with no break. I am a purple belt, though I should have already taken the exam to blue belt, ( though this is not what moves me inside Kenpo, I just want to learn and became a better kenpoist). Sometimes I even miss classes because I don’t feel as fit as I used to – not because of pregnancy weight because I returned to my normal weight 1 month after giving birth, but because I don’t train hardly for a long time – and I think that its better for me to go when I feel fit again, and I know this is stupid. My husband is already a green belt and if everything goes normally for him, he will be doing the brown belt exam next year. I must say that I envy him very much as I would like myself to be at his level.
Are there any martial art mums here? I feel a bit lonely in this. I don’t know any new mum so interested in martial arts as I am and everyone tells me that I should wait until my daughter is older. I can’t agree with that at all. She is happy if her mother is happy and her mother needs kenpo!!!:) I am already 33 years old and I don’t want to leave this path undone! But I have little or no time…
Any advises would be great! Anything! How is your learning martial path going? What difficulties have you encounter?