Kenpo for physical disabilities

Maltair

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Here is a post from my sifu on another forum. I thought I would post it here with the one response and try to get some more info for him. Wasn't there a web site some where or an organization that delt with Kenpo and disabilities?
Thanxs

hi all

i'm a kenpo instructor out in the pacific northwest and have recently taken on two students with physical disabilities. (one is wheelchair bound with low arm control and one has one paralyzed arm). can anybody help me with the following questions:

1. what are the best books/websites/articles about teaching martial arts and kenpo to people with physical disabilities?

2. are there any special olympic/paralympic events for people with physical challenges?

3. is there anybody in the oregon/idaho/washington area who is also training people with physical disabilities, who i might communicate and coordinate with?

thanks a lot, all.

jason

Response:
Defining the toolbox
First of all what you need to do is make an in depth evaluation of which body parts are under motor control and of those that are you need to evaluate exactly what they individually can perform from a motion standpoint. In essence what you are doing is defining weapons. From that a base move should be defined and a style built around that. You must define the physical vehicle that will channel the kenpo principles. You must always sublimate yourself to the principles. Do not have people doing things that they will never be capable of excecuting.

Disability implies a more limited toolbox of weapons. You must determine what exactly is in the individuals toolbox and then build from there. What I am saying may seem vague but it really is not.

I have worked with disabled people. My son is 13 and severely disabled. I know exactly what movements he can control and which he cannot. Because of that I know what I can ask him to do and what I cannot..

Respectfully,

Bob Hanes

G

getgoin