Just started Kenpo, style to go with?

B

Bajor

Hello all!

Sorry if this question has been asked before but I recently started American Kenpo (which is great I might add!) and I was wondering what martial arts would be good to cross train with it, if any? I'm not sure how "complete" kenpo is although so far to me it seems mostly a hands/feet striking art.
I have no prior martial arts experience so any suggestions would be good... also, is it better to train two simultaneously or get relatively good at Kenpo first?
Thank you my friends, peace!

Zoran

Black Belt
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
My advise is not to cross train until about brown, or black belt. You need to establish a base. As a beginner, you will have your hands full just learning the basics. Cross-training will only add to the confusion.

Although, an occasional seminar in another art is okay.

Les

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Bajor,

I have to agree with Zoran, it's too early to start thinking about cross training yet. (Do you already have any martial arts skills)

As you work your way through the Kenpo syllabus you'll find that there is a lot more to it than hands and feet striking.

You'll get that impression at first because your instructor has to have you build your foundations before you can put up a tower block.

Kenpo is structured to be a workable self defence system right from the start, so you learn to use the hands and feet first as they are the most versatile of your natural weapons.

Cross training is great later in your training, as Zoran has already said, around Brown or Black belt level. And there will be benefits to cross training then apart from learning extra skills.

Be patient, lay down good foundations, (basics) and everything else will follow.

Les

OP
G

gravity

Hey,

Like the others have mentioned its important first to establish a good base. Without it you won't know whether you're coming or going.