Just Saying Hi!

Matt Stone

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I have only recently found this site (again). I became a member quite a while back, but completely forgot about it (lost the link). I post a lot on www.e-budo.com and www.kungfuonline.com, so I had forgotten this was here.

In an effort to continue meeting folks with similar interests (and with luck gain further insight into my own training by reading about the insights others have into their own), I thought I'd jump in and say hello to the folks in this forum.

I have been studying Yiliquan kung fu since 1985, and about 9 months ago or so I started doing Modern Arnis with John CS Lehmann. Gotta say that FMA has really impacted how I view my other training, and allowed me an entirely new perspective on training.

That's it, no more soapbox time for me!

Happy Training!

Roland

Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Please tell us about your training experiences in Modern Arnis!!

How does it compare to your other art?

How often do you train, and how big is your studio?

It is good to see the art spreading out more so then ever!

:)

Again, good to have you on board.

OP
Matt Stone

Matt Stone

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Guro Lehmann (Sergeant Lehmann to us military types) is a buddy of mine, and he and I met completely by accident...

I was teaching one of my students here at Camp Zama, Japan, and we were working on some Bagua applications from a form. John happened to be in that part of the gym, saw us, walked up and asked what we were doing. We hung out and talked for a short while, and decided we should get together and train.

My teacher teaches Yiliquan (of course), but was also certified as a JKD chapter leader and an instructor of Pekiti-Tirsia Arnis under Leo Gaje (the older). I did a VERY little PT with him years ago, but had never lost my interest in FMA. When I met John, I knew I couldn't pass up this opportunity...