Jeet Kune Do "teachings of the Oakland Yrs"

monkey

Brown Belt
Reaction score
We had the Man fat Jong--"1001 way interchangable dummy!
We had the Tiet Kune Bau--Iron palm bag at Head Height & 1 arm from Wood dummy!
We used alot of home made devices as you will.James was a weilder by trade.So to practice Tan Sau or Bong Sau we had a welded of hammer head & the remining handle -"was welded to the pipe in the wall at a 45 degree angle.1 of the attachments that were interchangeable was a pole type.
Bent to form a "Z" or close too it.This helped for training sweeps-& building the forarm on the sweep motion of the unit.
Many of the training aids were spring loaded.
There were 6 types of weight type to train for gripps-fingers ect.
All this was done at 3039 Monticello Ave in James Lees Garage.
The tiet kune Bau also had a board to simulate the chest--this had a tention spring as well as other units.
We worked on the heavy bag & foot work alot.
James was a Master in Sil Lum befor Bruce considerd the arts!
James showed Bruce the Iron Palm & Lots more.The art was born in Oakland.James held a 3rd in Junfan & Jeet Kune Do.He didnt want any pholosophy.He love combat--hence James didnt want to work on the Tao.
James passed away from losing the painfull battle with cancer.

Bruce had many hours back & forth to Oakalnd & from 64-6 he live d with James.The footage people see of Bruce doing the Junfan with Takii & James is outside & Brandon & Linda Lee & Dan Inosanto.This 8mill color was filmed 1967 at Bel Air the home of Bruce Lee.Bruce dose the Sil lum tao form twice & a short tai chi set. The Back yard b/w was filmed in 68 at Bruces Home in Bel Air.
It had Jabar-Wong-Inosanto-Dan Lee-Mike Stone-Herb Jacson-James Cobuhn & a few others not shown on tape.
It was filmed with Bruce own Home camera he bought.While training with Bruce !