Is this BJJ class too expensive?

BJJaccount1202

White Belt
Reaction score
Went to a local BJJ gym, the people there seemed really nice but the price was kinda extreme. He told me for the first 6 weeks it’s $599 with a money back thing if I don’t drop weight (I’m not doing this for weight loss anyway I just want to learn self defense), it’s a completely beginner class where you can go 2-3 times a week, he said you get a personal trainer there with you as well but I’m not sure how much he’s over exaggerating there but it doesn’t seem like a true personal trainer type thing. After the 6 weeks its $39 a week so almost $160 a month. He also said I can do $59 a week with no chance to get my money back, but I have to let him know by today because tomorrow the beginner classes start and he won’t have another until December.

I’m new to martial arts in general, but $599 for 6 weeks seems way too expensive, another local gym charges $130 a month for twice a week and when I mentioned this to him he said those aren’t beginner classes and they just put you with everyone. Thoughts?

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
$600 for 6 weeks? I would never pay anything close to that. And even if all else were equal, for bjj I wouldn't want to enter a beginners class like that anyway, it's more helpful to train with experienced people and roll with them.

The telling you that you have to make up your mind today is 100% a scummy business practice. If he really wanted you, and had classes set like that, entering a couple days late, or offering a private lesson for the classes that you missed would be much more reasonable. I also wouldn't be surprised if the fine print says something like you have to attend all classes, or prove that you're doing x y and z outside of class for the money back guarantee offer.