How to fight bigger opponents in Kyokushin karate?

KyokushinKohai

White Belt
Reaction score
Which tactics would you recommend when fighting a much bigger and stronger opponent in a Kyokushin style kumite? I am wondering how best to avoid getting my ribs broken when the weight differences exceed 40 pounds without chickening out of the fight. (I hope this is not a to naive question. I am a Kyokushin beginner who suffers lots of pain from his bigger training partners. Thanks for everybody's thoughts. Very much appreciated. OSU)

HighKick

Black Belt
Reaction score
Speed is a great ally. Experience is also a big one, but it can come with some hard knocks. Especially if there are no other options for training partners. If so, it sounds like time to really pad up.
And, you will learn in time that it is not a 'fight'.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I can't speak to your style of karate, but in general, if a person is bigger than you, they typically have longer range, which can be an advantage for them. You can stay outside, but then you can't hit them. So you have to get inside to fight them, which brings its own challenges, but at least you can hit them.

Strength doesn't bother me for the most part. Of course you don't want to be battered by someone who's very strong, but technique wins in my experience. You keep from getting your ribs broken by keeping your elbows tucked, which is mostly where they should be anyway if you're in anything resembling a boxing stance.