How much to teach???

AdrenalineJunky

Black Belt
Reaction score
Okay, so I've picked up a couple of friends who want to train with me. At first these guys (actually, one's a girl. . .er, woman) started training for the physical aspects alone, ie getting into shape. But now they're starting to show an interest in the Muay Thai part of my training. So, I've told them about the class, and really recommenced that they come with me, and they proly will sooner or later, but right now they are comfortable training with me.

I've been doing MT for over ten years, and, while don't have any teaching credentials, nor have I fought professionally, I think that I could give them a solid foundation of basics, thus boosting their confidence enough to get them to come and train with my current instructor.

However, some "street" stuff has been coming up (mostly from my girl friend re: defense against male attackers) questions and whatnot, and I'm wondering how to address this part of it. I did wrestling in 5th-12th grade, MT, Aikido, and "Copkido" seminars while working as a bouncer, and I've been in several altercations from all directions some involving various weapons, etc. I've suggested a women's self-defense class, but I know she won't go.

So what should I do? She is what--any guy with eyes--you'd call a knock-out (no pun intended, well maybe) and whenever and wherever we go out, guys are always bothering her. My fear is that if I show her some stuff, rather than being afraid/alert and getting the hell out of a bad situation, she'll be confident/less afraid and, therefore, some of the useful instincts fear instills will go away, leaving her more prone to get caught in a bad situation.

Sorry about the long post, but I'm working out with her tonight and I have a feeling this will come up. There seems to be a lot of MA instructors here, as well as advanced students who have taught, so what do you think? Thanks in advance.

AJ

Trent

Green Belt
Reaction score