How many people train Modern Arnis as a complete system?

Datu Tim Hartman

Senior Master
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Questions:

1. How many started in Modern Arnis as a primary system?

2. How many people train Modern Arnis as a complete system?

3. How many people train it as an add-on system?

:asian: :idunno:

OP
Datu Tim Hartman

Datu Tim Hartman

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Tulisan said:
So...what's everyone's definition of complete system?

Boy...this outta be interesting...

:popcorn:

Do you use Modern Arnis to fill in gaps, cross train into the system or do you train it as the primary program not depending on other systems for punching, kicking, throwing, etc.

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Until I started training in Balintawak, Modern Arnis was the only system I had trained in formally, unless you count boucing and street thug (* Which I do not *).

I have trained and also teach Modern Arnis as a complete system. Stick (* Staff translations for distancing *), knive and empty hand. I like the basic self defense, as well as the joint locks and throws.

In my humble opinion Modern Arnis is a great art and is easier to learn for self defense then Balintawak would be. This is not a negative comment about Balintawak for I also enjoy this system very much and is a great art my opinion as well. Yet for the complete beginner to learn and be able to defend themselves, I like Modern Arnis. I still teach Modern Arnis to all of my/our students and we only train in Balintawak with those who have also trained with our Instuctor Manong Ted Buot. I state this to show, that this is what I am doing as the example of not only what I say but also what I do.

:asian:

Flatlander

Grandmaster
Reaction score