How many of you MMA folks switched from something else?

blackxpress

Green Belt
Reaction score
I'm looking for some informed opinions here. Most of my training has been in Wado Ryu and JJJ with some Law Enforcement SD tactics. I haven't trained in over a year. I moved to the Dayton, OH area a year and a half ago and there are no Wado schools here. I trained for a couple of months in Kenpo but didn't stick with it. Anyway, I'm really jonesing to get back into training and have an opportunity to train with Jorge Gurgel at this place: http://www.ohiomma.com/

I'm thinking about signing up for the MMA course, which would allow me to take whatever classes I want. I'm interested in taking Muay Thai and BJJ. I have some experience with BJJ so pretty much know what to expect there. I've watched a lot of Muay Thai but have never actually gloved up. I watched Jorge teach a Muay Thai class the other night and it was INTENSE.

Anyway, not sure what I'm looking for here. I guess I would just like to hear from those of you who came to MMA from karate or other traditional Asian arts. How easy was the transition? General comments, etc. Fire away!

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Everyone I know over the age of about twenty who does MMA has come from another style.
Wado is a good style to come from as if you have learned the Bunkai of the katas plus the Ohyo Gumite you will have already done some juijitsu so it won't be so new to you even without any previous knowledge of BJJ.. The shorter stances in Wado are ideal too.
It isn't a big change to be honest and much of what you learned in Wado will work in MMA, get in there and enjoy!

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Lot's, MMA clubs didn't really exist not too long ago, so anyone that's been involved in martial arts for more then a few years likely came from somewhere else first.

Nolerama

Master Black Belt
Reaction score