how confident are you in your art ?

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
we have discussed many times how effective ma may or may not be in a,self defence situation. With the,considered situation getting more and more extreme
and accepting that lots of people do ma for many reasons not connected with self defence .

how confident are you, that your skills will stand up, if you were to find yourself attacked by someone, untrained in ma, alone and unarmed who fitter/ stronger/ bigger than yourself, say by a factor of 25% in each.with is probably a reasonable expectation of what might occur, if not 25% what advantage could you cope with?

I've been thinking about this In my own context, and I'm really not sure that my skills are good enough to cope, but I'm a novice compared to many on here who are experts.

in that i also consider people in my group, who are much more skilled than i, who i am pretty sure ( through sparing)i can knock into next week with out breaking a,sweat, based just on my physical advantages as above

so, what say you?

Last edited:

CB Jones

Senior Master
Reaction score
bigger than yourself, say by a factor of 25% in each.with is probably a reasonable expectation of what might occur

That makes him 7’7” and 288 lbs.....

Is he a small Sasquatch? ;)

OP
jobo

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
That makes him 7’7” and 288 lbs.....
so a line backer then?

i said bigger rather than taller, but I'm 6'1 and two hundred pounds, and found myself in a situation with some one who was 6"8 and two fifty pounds, his calve were bigger than my thighs, so bigger is quite feasible even if your quite big yourself,

300lbs steroid pumping monsters with huge necks are at at all un common round her

Last edited:

hoshin1600

Senior Master
Reaction score