Hock Hocheim opinions?

Casa De Kenpo

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been looking for some sore of knife fighting course and came across Hock Hocheim. Has anyone been to a seminar or seen his DVD's? Thanks!

KenpoTex

Senior Master
Reaction score
I have no knowledge of the material he teaches but I've read a few of his articles and he seems pretty "squared away."

Wild Bill

Green Belt
Reaction score
If you are looking for FMA you will be disappointed although he does take a lot from his Modern Arnis background. He has a realistic point of view. I like his stuff. If you are looking for simple practical tactical blade he is one of the best. In fact you may not like the begining levels because he starts out with very basic stuff. I personaly recomend him. I also think his techniques would be easy to adapt to your own style as he has very simple footwork. Its not like trying to learn a new art.

OP
Casa De Kenpo

Casa De Kenpo

White Belt
Reaction score
If you are looking for FMA you will be disappointed although he does take a lot from his Modern Arnis background. He has a realistic point of view. I like his stuff. If you are looking for simple practical tactical blade he is one of the best. In fact you may not like the begining levels because he starts out with very basic stuff. I personaly recomend him. I also think his techniques would be easy to adapt to your own style as he has very simple footwork. Its not like trying to learn a new art.

Thank you, you've been very hopeful. I'm actually looking to stay away from FMA towards something different. Can you recommend anyone else?

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have attended a couple of Hock's classes, he knows his stuff...His knife stuff is GREAT..He teaches 3 different versions, civilian, police and military..He WILL NOT under any circumstances show any of the military applications to non-millitary presonnel...

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score