Hi

jkembry

Black Belt
Reaction score
Good Day All!,

Introducing myself...have started martial arts rather late in life, it seems as though I am progressing slower than some of the youngsters at my dojo, but I am enjoying the journey and learning things about myself that I never thought I would know.

My style is Uechi-ryu and have just passed Rokyu (Purple) test after just under a year of study and practice. I am finding that it is getting more and more intense. the good side is that I am starting to see myself becoming more fit and more aware of what is happening around me.

I hope to learn on this board. I have lurking for a few days and have decided to test the water.

- Jeff -

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome! Congratulations on your test!

I studied Uechi at Charles Earle's school in RI many years ago and enjoyed it. It's a fascinating style!

JBrainard

Senior Master
Reaction score
...have started martial arts rather late in life, it seems as though I am progressing slower than some of the youngsters at my dojo...

First off, Ave.
Second, don't sweat getting into the game late in life. I'm taking Arnis with a guy who's over 70 who's testing for his black belt in a year. You're never too old...
Enjoy the forums.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome, and happy posting! :wavey: And don't worry about it being "too late" - I know a woman who started at 67, and was still going strong 5 years and a BB later.

hapkenkido

Blue Belt
Reaction score
welcome to MT. it is never too late to start the arts. i have a student that started with me 6 months ago and her 72nd birthday was today.

OP
jkembry

jkembry

Black Belt
Reaction score
Thanks,

Been going through some of the other forums. I think I will enjoy hanging out here.

- Jeff -

mook jong man

Senior Master
Reaction score