hi, i am a totall newbie

J0c3r

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello all willingtohelpmates, i am looking for really experienced martials artists who have an idea or complete view on martial arts in common, because i need some serious help with choosing the best for me. I'm 21 y old, its a bit late to choose a martia art, on which you are going to build your life, so i need one which fits my current life "perfectly". Here are few ideas, what it must not contain: jointlocks, especially wristlocks (cause i'm an artist, and a masseur too,soo any damage to my wrist ends my carrier); punches and kicks. I want a 99% percent SOFT deffensive martial art,evading opponents attack and using its swing/momentum to counterattack, and i would like to get physical strenght. With further commenting i might be able to transfer the whole essence of the martial art im looking for.

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First and most important welcome to MT.
now as far as arts that fit what you are looking for I'm not sure there are any that do not have at least some of the things you said you do not want.
Aikido might me your best bet. other than that Tai Chi

wingchun100

Senior Master
Reaction score
Welcome to the board. I agree with the other reply. The closest thing might be aikido.

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
You say it can't contain wrist locks, punches or kicks. You say it's too late at 21 to build for the rest of your life. You say it must be strictly defensive.

I am afraid you've cut your choices down to almost exactly nothing. For the record, I know plenty of professional musicians (drummers, guitarists, keyboardists), professional medical providers (surgical MDs, restorative therapy providers, etc...), trade craftsmen, etc... that have done MAs for as many years, if not a few of them more than me with no ill effects to their hands. It's all about proper training & an open mind.