Height, Reach and Weight Disadvantages/Advantages

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Considering that we're all built differently, the chances of us, in a self defense situation, of facing someone taller, heavier, etc. are great.

If you have the advantage, how do you as individuals, use that 'plus' against your opponent? If you're the one who's at the disadvantage, how do you compensate for the differences? I'm specifically looking for techniques/strategies here.

Mike

bobster_ice

Black Belt
Reaction score
If im facing someone taller than me and they are a better fighter than me, I just keep kicking them in the groin area until they fall to the ground or stop throwing punches at me.

bushidomartialarts

Senior Master
Reaction score
against a taller opponent (i'm little, so i have some experience here), you want to stay closer than you're comfortable being.

with a reach advantage, if you stay out you get pummelled with impunity. only way round is to get in tight where they're jammed up and you can peck away at them. danger here is if they're much bigger than you, they may choose to grapple with you. smaller = disadvantaged if you're grappling.

James Patrick

Orange Belt
Reaction score
just damage the attacker and take him out, regardless of size.

If are the one to bring maximum damage the quickest, you will win, regardless of size difference. This is achieved by not being afraid to escalate the force quickly with the bigger guy (ie. hit vital, use enviromental weapons, use carry weapons etc.).

Lucky for us who might be facing a larger opponent that there aren't any rules on the street; so being the first with the most can happened effectively against bigger people.

Jonathan Randall

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score