Has anyone read Angry White Pyjamas?

L

Little_Shoto

I just finished it last night.

It has to be one of the funniest books that I have read in years. I have heard that practioners of Yoshinkan (sp?) Aikido don't really like the book ...personally, I think they are taking it too seriously, but it still is a hilarious book.

The author is Robert Twigger.

:asian:

Roland

Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
How old is it?
Would it be easy to find right now?
I would like to know more.

Thank you in advance.

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I see it in my local Borders all the time. Try Chapters in Canada.

Angry White Pyjamas: A Scrawny Oxford Poet Takes Lessons from the Tokyo Riot Police
by Robert Twigger
Paperback: 320 pages ; Dimensions (in inches): 0.76 x 8.02 x 5.33
Publisher: Quill; ISBN: 0688175376; (April 2000)

OP
L

Little_Shoto

I am a terrible writer, so any review that I would attempt to give would probably make everyone want to burn their copies. :p

It's a pretty easy book to spot ...it's got 2 empty gi's on the cover, one is jumping in the air and kicking at the other one, while the other gi is doing a high block.

I will see if I can find a good review on it and post it.

:asian:

OP
L

Little_Shoto

Here we go:

Taken from Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/t...0118340/sr=8-1/ref=sr_8_1/002-4839985-3282412

Great description of one person's Japanese experience, February 1, 2002
Reviewer: Maggie Krzywicka (see more about me) from NY, NY

So it may not be the most accurate description of the Japanese culture, so what? Angry White Pyjamas is an excellent account of one person's somewhat extreme experience of Japan.