Groin stretch recommendations?

helios410

White Belt
Reaction score
My groin region is very tight (yes, laugh now) - and it has an adverse effect on my kicks. The best I can describe it is I can't "open up" - I feel a pull in my groin when I thrust my pelvis during the pivot to land the kick. It does not feel natural whatsoever.

I have been practicing Muay Thai for approximately 7 months now, everyday after I train I do the generic groin stretch like so:

[img=http://imageshack.us/thumbnmail.png]

I have also done variations of this, such as crouching on my two feet while forcing my legs apart with my arms.

If anyone has had a similar problem, and now has a flexible groin area, please share your secret! Thanks.

StrongFighter

Green Belt
Reaction score
Get yourself checked out by the doctor. It may be a small one or the beginning of hernia. If left untreated, it can kill you.

OP
H

helios410

White Belt
Reaction score
Thanks Strongfighter. I'm not a doctor, but I do not believe this is a hernia. The tightness is in the tendons or muscles on the inside of both legs depending on which one I am kicking with. And overall, I would say I am less flexible than the average person.

Basically I was curious if there are methods besides the generic groin stretches that are used in fitness instruction. As if there is a stretch someone was taught that deals specifically with kicks and loosening the groin region.

Akira

Green Belt
Reaction score
I've always just done generic stretches as a warmup, I don't think there is any need to do any more.

I'd honestly get checked out by a physio or sports doctor, and review your warm up. You mentioned you stretch after training but what do you do prior to training?

For me I run stretch everything, jog 6kms then stretch everything again before I start training so I'm completely warmed up.

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score