Grand Sumo July Tournament

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
Anyone else watching it? We don't get the entire event, but NHK is airing all of the matches. While we miss most of the pageantry, it's fun to watch the matches. I think today is day 9 of the 15 day tournament.

GRAND SUMO Highlights - TV - NHK WORLD - English

I'm very new to watching sumo, so it's really interesting learning about the sport.

OP
Steve

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
I’m a bit behind, but I’ll probably catch up this evening on the matches I haven’t seen yet. If you want to see most of the upper division matches with the full ritual pageantry, I recommend Jason’s All Sumo YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL556B0EVMUL2ITzB0dZ1yugBcB-A2SHGv
Awesome. Thanks for the link. I'll definitely check it out.

Those guys are massive, except for Enho. He's been doing surprisingly well, as long as he keeps his hips back. I think he's 4 - 4 so far. We've also enjoyed watching Kotoshoho.

OP
Steve

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
From day 4, this is Enho vs Aoiyama... over 100kg difference in weight, not to mention height, length of arms, etc. I'm not at all surprised to learn that Enho is in the same stable as Hakuho. Even a lay person like me can see that they both have a lot of technique.

Last edited:

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
From day 4, this is Enho vs Aoiyama... over 100kg difference in weight, not to mention height, length of arms, etc. I'm not at all surprised to learn that Enho is in the same stable as Hakuho. Even a lay person like me can see that they both have a lot of technique.
Enho has been pretty popular recently, and I think a large part of that (besides his weight) is specifically because he's from the same stable as Hakuho.

isshinryuronin

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Sumo is a very unique martial art:
1. It's good to be fat - though by no mean necessary. Plenty of smaller guys have distinguished themselves.